Share this

Luxembourg is bordered to the east by Germany, south by France, west and north by Belgium. The territory of the duchy is divided into two regions: the northern sector (Esligk), which straddles a part of the Ardennes Mountains, characterized by deep valleys and plateaus, and the south (Gkoutlant) were large and fertile land homes the largest part of the population. 

The city of Luxembourg is the capital of Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. It has 80,700 inhabitants and is located at the confluence of the Alzette and Petriz rivers. Main attractions are: Casemates du Bock (Archaeological Site), the Gelle Fra (Monument), the Abbey Neumunster, Adolphe Bridge, the Church of St. Michael, The Cathedral of Notre Dame and of course the city of Luxembourg. Luxembourg is the seat of the Court of Justice and the administrative seat of the European Parliament. 
The old medieval town is situated on a high plateau between two rivers, surrounded by suburbs and industries. In the old city survived the Roman fortress, the Cathedral of Our Lady (17th cent.), The ducal palace (16th cent.), Etc. The history of the city and the fortifications were marked in 1994 by UNESCO "World Heritage". 
The city also hosts interesting museums such as the National Museum of Art and History, National Museum of Natural History, the Museum of History of Luxembourg City and the Museum of Modern Art, Grand Duke Jean
Do not forget to visit the Fort Thungen, and take a trip to Place d'Armes (Square) and Place Guillaume II (Square). 
Also important cities in the region are: Esch-sur-Alzette, Ettlebruck, Clervaux, Esch-sur-Sure, Diekirch, Mertert, Echternach and Grevenmacher
Note: The above information was updated at the time of issue of the article but can change without notice. Please confirm the accuracy of these before your trip.


USA Today : What travel development are you most thankful for?
Hotels with free breakfast.
Airlines with no bag fees.
Electronic toll passes.
Online check-in.
In-flight Wi-Fi.
Total votes: 1